On Wednesday 07th September 2016 just after 01:00am, a dark cloud rose above London and the UK, one of London’s finest nightclub’s has had it’s license revoked, causing the venue to shut it’s door’s for definitely the very last time.

The decision and proposed ideas drawn on the table for Fabric from Islington Council and the Islington police were a travesty, pointless and unacceptable, also a very debatable topic arose which made all supporters, the staff and owners inside the hall, music magazine staff and all of social media angry and baffled, it was something that not needed in my opinion and for all of the above standing by Fabric for so long during these difficult times.

The topic that upset us all was that Fabric could ban Drum n Bass etc on Friday nights (A genre of dance music which Fabric is very well-known for which is played almost every Friday for the last 15+ years.) or just ban on high-very high BPM (130-180+ we all guessed on Twitter during the review haha) on Friday nights instead, this idea was remarkable and totally unnecessary to tackle the drug use and drug dealing in and around London. It wasn’t the greatest idea for London and the UK’s nightlife, because other venues may have had to follow suit if it did in fact happen when Fabric could re-open, also if the police and councils caught up with the venues or clubs who weren’t taking this idea on board.

I feel closing the club will not stop people overdosing or taking the drugs that clubs and venues attempt to disallow or prohibit, it will just make the issue harder to get out of in the future and it is something that will be ongoing for a very long time, or until a plan of action throughout London and the UK. But if the police and councils continue like this and to not work with the venue staff/security and nightclub staff/security, London and the UK will fail to upkeep their venue or club. Carrying on about the police, Fabric called the police near the venue 80 times for drug use, dealing and only one prosecuted.

The council who made us wait a good 50-70 minutes had no clue what they were talking about or dealing with, or even what they were deciding on. Also they weren’t educated on how nightclub’s work on searches, how clubs and venues attempt to try to tackle the drug crimes they deal with. They even decided on, if Fabric was to stay open, to start using body warmth scanners, which would discomfort and unsettle Fabric goers more than the superbly through searches that Fabric already had. The searches were remarkably thorough that not a single body part was missed. Fabric had an outstanding medical team on site who were funny and supportive towards all that were intoxicated, unable to walk or breath, mental health issues, dazed, feeling sick etc. I unfortunately suffered a panic attack in the club, but luckily there was a security practically right in front of me past all of the people enjoying themselves in front of me inside the booth who I could speak to.
As soon as I did make my way over to him and told what I was going through, he phoned up the medic team and a really nice female medic made her through the crowd of people and guided me out of the business and assisted me out of the dark club, outside to some well needed fresh air into a little up away from the loud pumping music and sat me down and stayed with me for a good 30-40 minutes until I was 100% better and happier and back to my old self. She also made sure, when I told her I wanted to meet Joris Voorn that I was all okay to head back into the club, which was really nice to hear. Ministry of Sound has a medical team of two people too, I had one at Ministry and the medical team were rushed off of their feet dealing with many intoxicated people and couldn’t assist me at the same time whilst my heart rate was still a little high.

Just shows you that behind the doors of Fabric and inside the dark rooms there is plenty of help and so much support from the security team, staff and medics on stand by that make you feel safe and secure. I now feel that has just disappeared.

Will Fabric fight back and appeal? Of course they will! But for now, the iconic Farrington club will remain closed forever or until Fabric has won it’s fight.

